Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Health Information Technician

Ask a Librarian!

chat loading...

CINAHL Complete

Click on the image below to access CINAHL Complete.

How to Limit Your Search

Before typing search terms into CINAHL's search box, save time by limiting the types of results returned. CINAHL provides users with a number of advanced search limiters. If selected before the search, the limiters ensure your search results correspond to your query. For example, if you choose to limit a search by selecting Female under Sex, your results will be limited to studies with female subjects. This simple step increases the specificity of your search results. 

To start, click on the CINAHL logo above. 

You will find the simple search box and the Advanced Search option located at the top of the CINAHL search page.

CINAHL Advanced Search Button

To view all limiter options available in the CINAHL database, click the Advanced Search link located to the right of Search Options.

800

The image above includes some of the useful limiters available. For example, checking Full Text will return articles that you can read, print, or save in their entirety. If Full Text is left unchecked, the results will include full-text articles. However, the results will also include the abstracts of articles that cannot be read in their entirety in the database.

Before beginning a search, take time to select limiters. This will ensure tailored search results.

CINAHL Subject Headings

Each article in CINAHL is assigned MeSH (medical) subject headings associated with its major topic areas. These headings use highly specific terminology. If you attempt to align search terms with subject headings, the search process will probably seem extremely complicated. CINAHL simplifies the process for you by using your keywords to find the associated MeSH subject headings. Begin by clicking on the CINAHL Subject Headings link located on the ribbon at the top of the CINAHL home search page. 

Enter a keyword In the search box. Take note of the subject heading provided to continue your search process in CINAHL. Remember: The use of MeSH subject headings yields the best search results!